Katy's Helping Hands
Home About Me Childminding Other Services References Contact Me
My Setting

As a childminder, the care I provide will be based in our own home, with my one year old little boy and our two cats. We aim to be a home away from home. We have two different indoor play rooms, a large 100 ft garden, and a separate area for naps if needed. I focus on the nurturing care of the under 5’s, although older siblings will be welcome. There will be no more than three children under 5 (and only one child under 1) at any one time.

As an Ofsted registered childminder, I am required to follow the Early Years Foundation Stage, and I support children's development through play based activities, that follow the children’s interests. We have a strong love for outdoors, and play outside whatever the weather (with appropriate clothing). We like to attend groups where we can mix with other children as well, and go on outings in the local community and further afield.

Our Routine

Our routine will very much be devised with the needs of the individual children in mind, taking note of their personal sleepy and hunger cues, as well as liaising with parents about their usual routines.

Each day will involve child led play both indoors and outdoors at my home, where children can choose from the range of resources available, including large garden, arts and crafts, construction toys, books, role play, sensory area, and I will follow their interests to plan activities that inspire and captivate them.

We will also go out most days, whether that’s to a toddler group, the park, the woods, the shops to buy our snack or somewhere else that the children have shown an interest in.

We specifically aim to go to the library rhyme time group, an organised welly walk, a music and dance group and a forest school group.